logo.gif VCR 2210
host: commonsipvcr

Adding and updating users

You can add users to and update users on the IP VCR. Although most information is identical for both tasks, some fields differ.

The IP VCR supports up to 200 users.

Adding a user

To add a user:

  1. Go to Users.
  2. Click Add user.
  3. Complete the fields referring to the table below to determine the most appropriate settings for the user.
  4. Click Add user.

Updating a user

To update an existing user:

  1. Go to Users.
  2. Click the name of the user that you want to update.
  3. Change the fields as appropriate referring to the table below.
  4. Click Update user settings.
  5. To change the user's password, type in the current password once and the new password twice.
  6. Click Update password.

 

Field Field description More information
User ID

Identifies the log-in name that the user will use to access the IP VCR web interface.

Although you can enter text in whichever character set you require, some browsers and FTP clients do not support Unicode characters.

Name

The full name of the user.

 

Password

The required password, if any.

Although you can enter text in whichever character set you require, some browsers and FTP clients do not support Unicode characters.

Note that passwords are stored in the configuration.xml file as plain text unless the IP VCR is configured (or has ever been configured) to use advanced account security mode. For more information, refer to Configuring security settings.

Note that this field is only active when adding a new user. If you are updating an existing user and want to change that user's password, click Change password instead.

Re-enter password

Verifies the required password.

 

Disable user account

Select to disable this account.

This can be useful if you want to keep an account's details, but do not want anyone to be able to use it at the moment.

You cannot disable the system-created admin account.

The system-created guest account is disabled by default. If you enable it, the IP VCR will create a security warning.

In advanced account security mode, a non-admin account will expire after 30 days of inactivity; that is, the IP VCR will disable it. To re-enable a disabled account, clear this option.

For more information about advanced account security mode, refer to Configuring security settings.

Lock password

Prevents user from changing password.

This is useful where you want multiple users to be able to use the same user ID. The system-created guest account has Lock password enabled by default.

Force user to change password on next login

Select this option to force a user to change their password. Next time this user attempts to log in to the IP VCR, a change password prompt will appear.

This option is enabled by default for a newly created account. It is a good idea for new users to set their own secure passwords.

This option is not available for accounts where Lock password is selected.

When the user changes his password, the IP VCR clears this check box automatically.

Privilege level

The access privileges to be granted to this user.

See User privileges for detailed explanations.

Related topics